FAQ: Calcutta Chromosome Who Becomes Who?

What kind of novel is Calcutta chromosome?

Amitav Ghosh’s The Calcutta Chromosome (Picador, £15.99, ISBN 0 330 34758 6) won the 1996 Arthur C. Clarke award for best science fiction book.

Is Amitav Ghosh married?

Conceived in 1961 by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain of the Times of India group, the first recipient of the award was G. Sankara Kurup in 1965 for his Malayalam work Otakuzhal. The winner gets a statue of the Goddess Saraswati, along with a cash prize of INR eleven lakh.

Who is Amitabha Ghosh?

University of Oxford (Ph.D.) Amitav Ghosh (born 11 July 1956) is an Indian writer and the winner of the 54th Jnanpith award, India’s highest literary honor, best known for his work in English fiction. Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta in 1956.

What is the caste of Ghosh?

Ghosh is an Indian and Bangladeshi surname found among Bengali Hindus. Ghoshes mostly belong to Kayastha caste in Bengal.

For which work Amitav Ghosh got Jnanpith Award?

Amitav Ghosh feted with 54th Jnanpith Award for ‘contribution to literature’ Former governor of West Bengal Gopalkrishna Gandhi (L) presents the Jananpith Award to writer Amitav Ghosh (R), in New Delhi.

You might be interested:  What Is The City Of Calcutta?

For Which book did Amitav Ghosh got Jnanpith Award?

Here are some must-read books by the author, who is the first Indian writer in English to have been chosen for the 54th Jnanpith Award honour. Ghosh’s debut novel, The Circle of Reason revolves around Alu, an orphan, whose journey spans across many years and continents.

Which is the biggest Sahitya award in India?

Jnanpith Award, highest literary award in India, given annually for the best creative literary writing to writers in any of the 22 “scheduled languages” recognized in the Indian Constitution.

Who got the first Gyanpeeth award?

Sankara Kurup (1901– 1978), a Malayalam poet, won the first Jnanpith Award in 1965, the year of its inception, for his anthology of poems, titled Odakkuzhal.

Which is highest award in India?

‘ Bharat Ratna ‘, the highest civilian Award of the country, was instituted in the year 1954. Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for these awards. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *