Quick Answer: When Was Fport William Established In Calcutta?

Who established Fort William in Kolkata?

Calcutta was founded on the mud flats of Hooghly River, a tributary of the Ganges, by the English merchant Job Charnock in 1690. After 1696, Fort William was constructed under the supervision of John Goldsborough.

When was Fort William built in Kolkata?

Based on the East India Company trading policy shift, from voyage to factory and to establishment of fortresses, the construction of the old fort commenced at Sutanuti (Calcutta) in 1698 and was completed in 1706. It was named Fort William in honour of the King of England.

What was the name of the English fort at Calcutta?

A palatial edifice that dates back to the British Raj, Fort William is built on the eastern bank of the beautiful Hooghly River. It covers an expanse of 70.9 acres. The structure that stands at present is the reconstruction of the original fort that was built in the year 1696 by the British East India Company.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: Why Did The British Moved The Capital From Calcutta To Delhi?

What was the old name of Calcutta?

Although the city’s name has always been pronounced Kolkata or Kôlikata in Bengali, the anglicised form Calcutta was the official name until 2001, when it was changed to Kolkata in order to match Bengali pronunciation.

Why is it called the Black Hole of Calcutta?

Fort William was established to protect the East India Company’s trade in the city of Calcutta, the principal city of the Bengal Presidency. The English officers and merchants based in Kolkata were rounded up by the forces loyal to Siraj ud-Daulah and forced into a dungeon known as the “Black Hole”.

What is the reference to the Black Hole of Calcutta?

The Black Hole of Calcutta refers to a tiny prison in Fort William. According to British accounts, it was here where the Nawab of Bengal had imprisoned 146 British captives overnight (however, some say there were 65 prisoners). The dungen did not have enough space, and a lack of air led to numerous deaths.

What was Fort William originally called?

The settlement that grew around it was called Maryburgh, after his wife Mary II of England. This settlement was later renamed Gordonsburgh, and then Duncansburgh before being renamed Fort William, this time after Prince William, Duke of Cumberland; known to some Scots as “Butcher Cumberland”.

Are Victoria Memorial and Fort William same?

Fort William is basically the old fort constructed by the British. Victoria Memorial Square is mirrored by Clarence Park. It has the shape of an irregular octagon and covers the area of 5 km². The Victoria Memorial was built in the memories of Queen Victoria after the death in 1902.

You might be interested:  Which Man From Portugal Sailed To Calcutta In India?

How old is Fort William?

The Fort in Fort William was first built by Cromwell’s forces in 1654 to pacify the local Clans, especially the Camerons. It was first known as the Garrison of Inverlochy and was just a wooden stockade on an earth bank protecting 250 troops.

Why is Fort William famous?

Fort William is known as the Outdoor Capital of the UK. The fort was named after King William III. Fort William was the first town in Britain to light up its streets using hydroelectricity in 1896. The aluminium smelter was built by British Aluminium Company Ltd in the 1920s.

Which fort was built by British in India?

Built by the British East India Company in 1640, Fort St. George was the first fortress in India founded in the year 1644. It houses the famous St Mary’s Church (an ancient Anglican Church), a museum (contains antics and artefacts from British Rule) and Wellesley House (paintings of the Fort Governer.)

Who was the first Viceroy of India?

Government of India Act 1858 passed which changed the name of post-Governor General of India by Viceroy of India. The Viceroy was appointed directly by the British government. The first Viceroy of India was Lord Canning.

Where did British first factories in India?

The company established its first Indian factory in 1611 at Masulipatnam on the Andhra Coast of the Bay of Bengal; and a second at Surat in 1612.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *